China not to build new coal-based power plant in Bangladesh: envoy

Chinese ambassador Li Jiming on Tuesday said that his country would not build any new coal-based power plant in Bangladesh.

‘China will also strongly support Bangladesh’s green and low-carbon energy development, and will no longer build new coal power projects in Bangladesh,’ he said at the seventh council of Chinese Enterprise Association in Bangladesh (CEAB) and China-Bangladesh Economic and Trade Cooperation Forum virtually.

China has engaged efforts to achieve its carbon peak by 2030 and carbon neutrality by 2060, he said, according to a press release.

China is also looking forward for signing a memorandum of understanding on building cooperation with Bangladesh on the basis of government to government and public-private partnership in the areas of economic and trade cooperation, Li Jiming said.

At present, under the policy of 97 per cent of Bangladeshi products enjoying duty free import to China, Bangladesh’s exports to China are growing in double digits, he said.

Salman F Rahman, private industry and investment advisor to prime minister, in his statement expressed willingness to sign a memorandum of understanding to further deepen the economic and trade cooperation between the two countries.

He urged the Chinese businesses to take part in Bangladesh investment summit to be held in November.

CEAB president Ke Changliang, BIDA executive chairman Sirazul Islam, BEPZA executive chairman Major General Md Nazrul Islam, FBCCI president Md Jashim Uddin, DCCI president Rizwan Rahman and BCCCI president Gazi Golam Murtoza, among others, spoke.  

CEAB is an organisation of more than 260 members from large-scale Chinese companies in Bangladesh.

Earlier, Bangladesh minister for power, energy and mineral resources Nasrul Hamid said that the government decided to review all but three of 29 coal-based plants in the pipeline.

The three coal-based likely to be continued are in Rampal in Bagerhat, Matarbari in Chattogram and Payra in Patuakhali funded by China, Japan and India respectively.

Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *